35 Really Quite Good Albums Of The Year So Far

El-P video still

Simple as that, really. When putting together my own five favourites for the BBC Music Blog’s Best Albums of 2012… So Far (read it here), I realised that I could quite easily expand the list to 25. And then it went to 35. And then I stopped. Because 35 is quite enough, for now.

Check them out, if you like. They’re records I’ve enjoyed, so perhaps you will, too. And feel free to Tweet me your favourites that I’m missing out on – @MikeDiver is where you’ll find me.

Click each title to check out the corresponding BBC review.

El-P – Cancer4Cure
Killer Mike – R.A.P. Music
The Invisible – Rispah
John Talabot – ƒin
Death Grips – The Money Store

Gang Colours – The Keychain Collection
The Men – Open Your Heart
The Twilight Sad – No One Can Ever Know
Liars – WIXIW
Lorn – Ask the Dust

Kindness – World, You Need a Change of Mind
Poliça – Give You the Ghost
Oddisee – People Hear What They See
NZCA/Lines – NZCA/Lines
Perfume Genius – Put Your Back N 2 It

Portico Quartet – Portico Quartet
The Thing & Neneh Cherry – The Cherry Thing
The Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio
THEESatisfaction – awE naturalE
Slugabed – Time Team

Spoek Mathambo – Father Creeper
Torche – Harmonicraft
Young Magic – Melt
The 2 Bears – Be Strong
Japandroids – Celebration Rock

E.S.T. – 301
Errors – Have Some Faith in Magic
DVA – Pretty Ugly
Django Django – Django Django
Christian Loeffler – A Forest (no review, boo!)

Actress – R.I.P.
Cadence Weapon – Hope in Dirt City
Bigg Jus – Machines That Make Civilization Fun
Breton – Other People’s Problems
RYAT – TOTEM

I dunno, I like them.

Leave a Reply

